RSL’s Epic Meltdown From a Fans Perspective


It’s been a long time since I could say that I’ve observed an RSL match from a pure fan perspective, as I sat in a regular seat at Rio Tinto Stadium for the first time in a league match since the stadium opened. Since I’m no longer writing for mlssoccer.com I hope to do more of it, and hope to put my thoughts down on this blog with more frequency.

Here are just a few of my observations:

  • The result was awful, but then again you could easily see it coming just after the 2nd goal in the first half. That was obvious from my seats, from the tv screen in your living room or from the press box, I’m sure.
  • There is a too large segment of the crowd (probably even larger because of Beckham’s presence) that seem oblivious to the fact that a soccer match is going on. With just 45 minutes of solid, continuous action can’t everyone (or at least most) stay in their seat that long and get a drink, or go to the bathroom at the break?
  • It’s really fun to be able to wear RSL gear, to cheer, and to swear at the referee’s, but then again you already knew that.
  • Funniest referee heckling I’ve ever heard: After Beckham went through a stretch of admonishing the referee, and the referee responded by giving LAG 3/4 consecutive calls in their favor, this was hear from a lady in our section. “Hey ref, get up off your knees, you’re blowing the game.”
  • Speaking of Beckham, I do have to give him kudo’s. After David Junor Lopez’s second stint of gratuitous time wasting, Beckham appeared to go over and chew him out as he was slowly making his way off the field. Not sure if that’s what was really happening, but if it was, kudo’s to Sir David.

Well, that’s it for now. Just wanted to share some thoughts of what for most is a common occurrence, but felt a bit foreign to me – sitting in the stands. I’m looking forward to doing it again on Saturday. Hopefully the result is better this time around.

2 comments on “RSL’s Epic Meltdown From a Fans Perspective

  1. SoccerPrime says:

    Sad to see you leave the media side of things, it won’t be the same. But congrats on spending time as a normal fan, in full gear! All the best. Oh and you were spot on (as usual).

  2. I was yelling make me a shake and I want mine with strawberry at beckham to which beckham responded by grabbing his twig and berries and adjusting himself. That guy has thin skin.

Comments are closed.